Goals = Dreams with Deadlines

Frolicking In Turkey

After a while on the road where days are often filled with aimless wandering, lots of eating and even more beer drinking you come to need a bit of a routine. This is why I am going to try to attempt the BootsnAll.com 30 Days of Indie Travel project.

***

Day 1: Goals

What were your travel goals last year? Did you accomplish them? What travel goals do you hope to accomplish this year?

As the title of this article states goals are formed by dreams. Dreams that you must actualize to make a reality. They take planning and scheming and even more dreaming. My dream of last year really started to form while on a trip to New Zealand and Australia for my 30th birthday in 2010. I met so many people on RTW trips and a few people who had been traveling and living abroad for numerous years. This had always been a dream of mine but for one reason or another I had never taken a long-term trip. So as I sat in the airport in Sydney and listened to the boarding calls of flights departing across the globe I realized that every flight sounded better than mine that was heading back to San Francisco.

It was in that moment that I set a date for my departure from my life in San Francisco and to see where the wind took me. I originally planned to leave SF in January of 2011 but it took me a little longer than planned. This was a goal that I kept secret for a long time. I started to squirrel away money. Once I started talking about it I felt more pressure to actually do it. So by April 2011 I was ready to leave.

It has now been 8 months of being on the road. While it has been a bumpy ride I would not exchange these moments for anything. I never want to stop exploring this amazing planet we live on. Learning from people. Being a global citizen. In these 8 months I have sailed in the Greek Islands, rode a Hot Air Balloon in Turkey, drank way too many Bintangs in Bali, ate my fill of Indian food in Singapore and Malaysia, ate even more Green Papaya Salad in Thailand, took a bus from Laos to Vietnam that was populated with livestock and a pot of raw meat. Now I am enjoying the hustle of Hanoi.

That said I am starting to get tired of changing towns every few days. Tired of changing countries just when I learn the basics of a new language and how the money works.  I miss having a kitchen. Having a local spot. So my plan for next year is to find somewhere in Latin America and stay for a bit. Work on my spanish. Maybe even find a nice bit of land somewhere to buy and start my own Guest House. That way I can continue to travel through my guests.

Frolicking In Turkey

Frolicking In Turkey

Comments
4 Responses to “Goals = Dreams with Deadlines”
  1. Joy says:

    Looks like it’s been an amazing year! Good luck with the rest of your adventures. Can’t wait to be in Singapore this weekend. =)

  2. Kasara says:

    Wow! Great tihinkng! JK

Leave a Reply

  • Advertising & PR
  • Travel Bloggers Unite
  • Enter your email address to follow the frolicking fun!!

    Join 1 other follower

  • © Copyright Fluent In Frolicking 2012. All rights reserved.
  • Indie Travel Manifesto
