Embracing Change

Day 2 of the 30 Day Indie Travel Project asks “Change can be exciting and bring new joys into our lives. But it can present challenges that frustrate or annoy us. How has travel changed you in the last year? Did you welcome these changes or resist them at the time, and how do you feel about them now?”

***

Reflecting on Life in Pai

This prompt brings to mind one of my favorite travel quotes by the Italian Poet Cesare Pavese,”Traveling is a brutality. It forces you to trust strangers and to lose sight of all that familiar comfort of home and friends. You are constantly off balance. Nothing is yours except the essential things – air, sleep, dreams, the sea, the sky – all things tending towards the eternal or what we imagine of it.”

My frolicking moments over the past eight months have taken me out of my comfort zone. They have forced me to push myself. To test my personal boundaries. I have realized that I am able to get dropped off in the center of any random town/city in the world and navigate myself. Even that sometimes being lost can bring the most rewarding memories. I have also learned to not be afraid of talking to strangers. In fact your new best friend, lover, or confidant might be sitting next to you right now. You never know where “Hello” can take you. 

I have learned that a smile is a universal language. 

I have pushed myself to face fears. From scuba diving to riding a motorcycle. I’ve held snakes and bats. Ate food that I am still to scared to know what it was and drink moonshine with locals.  With every fear I face I feel stronger. I am thankful for the friends I have made from traveling that have helped push my out of my comfort zone and assured me I would be fine before each fear has been faced.

I welcome these changes. They are the reasons I desired to leave my home. The whole idea behind long term travel for me is self exploration and growth. I look forward to the situations that await me as my travels continue. The changes I have yet to realize. The person who I am becoming. LIFE IS A GRAND ADVENTURE!! 

Being EMBRACED by your fear can bring some great CHANGE!!

Comments
7 Responses to “Embracing Change”
  1. Ursula says:

    wow!!!! this is awesome, and that picture with you and the snake is amazing.

  2. Stitches says:

    Way to go on this essay, heelpd a ton.

  3. Biana says:

    There’s nothing like the relief of fdninig what you’re looking for.

Leave a Reply

  • Advertising & PR
  • Travel Bloggers Unite
  • Enter your email address to follow the frolicking fun!!

    Join 1 other follower

  • © Copyright Fluent In Frolicking 2012. All rights reserved.
  • Indie Travel Manifesto
