Learning

Learning that a smile is universal in Urfa, Turkey

This post is part of BootsnAll’s Indie Travel Challenge 2012.

***

Week 3 Prompt: Have you ever studied or taken classes on a trip? What did you study, and perhaps more importantly, what did you learn while on that trip? What would you like to learn on your travels this year?

***

I feel that the real lessons from traveling come from the experiences on the road more than any class you might take.  Yes, I have taken cooking, dance and other similar one day classes. They are a fun break from sightseeing and a way to take something home with you that will be more valuable to you than some tchotchke that you buy from some random street market. 

Yet, from my experience these classes aren’t the kind of learning experience that shapes you as an experienced traveler. The real lessons come from the unexpected moments that force you to adapt and make due with the current situations. These lessons might come from something as mundane as learning the fine art of haggling at a street market to moments that shake you to the core and leave you asking if you should just book a return ticket back home such as ending up in a foreign hospital. Making your own way through these situations are the greatest lessons you can learn on the road. You learn about yourself. You learn about the way the world works in ways you have never known before. These lessons are the reasons why I travel. These are the lessons I choose to learn first hand instead of sitting in the comfort of my own house and watching The Travel Chanel. 

Part of my 2012 Indie Travel List includes learning a foreign language. This is my main goal for 2012. I plan to immerse myself somewhere this year. I am still trying to decide where that place might be. Is it somewhere in Europe or somewhere in Latin America? Do I follow my brain or heart? What unexpected lessons will I learn from the decisions I make? This is what excites me for this upcoming year!

Learning that a smile is universal in Urfa, Turkey

Comments
4 Responses to “Learning”
  1. I can’t wait to see what language you learn and this picture of you is fab!!! Where is that?

  2. ayan says:

    how was your Sinulog trip?

Leave a Reply

  • Advertising & PR
  • Travel Bloggers Unite
  • Enter your email address to follow the frolicking fun!!

    Join 1 other follower

  • © Copyright Fluent In Frolicking 2012. All rights reserved.
  • Indie Travel Manifesto
